Category Archives: Databases

The new read–write API for our catalog

What excites us most is the potential for creative and unexpected uses of our API by the public, for any purpose. Continue reading

Posted in Catalog, Databases, Open Government, Social Media (Web 2.0), Wikipedian in Residence | Tagged , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Family Tree Friday: Immigration Records in AAD

A couple of weeks ago John wrote about the 20th century military records available on our website through Access to Archival Databases (AAD). Today, I want to talk about the immigration records that you can find in AAD. In the … Continue reading

Posted in Databases, Family Tree Fridays, Online Research, Research | Tagged | 4 Comments

Have you tried Online Public Access?

Online Public Access (OPA) launched to the public on December 27th. What is Online Public Access? It’s the public search and display for online access to our records or information about our records. What does it contain? OPA contains all … Continue reading

Posted in Databases, DC-area Researchers, Genealogy / Family History, Online Research, Open Government, Research | Tagged

Online Public Access is now available!

The National Archives’ new search interface is now available! Check out Online Public Access at http://www.archives.gov/research/search! The National Archives’ flagship initiative in our Open Government plan is to develop online services to meet the 21st century needs of the public. … Continue reading

Posted in Databases, DC-area Researchers, Digitization, Electronic Records, Miscellaneous, Online Research | Tagged | 3 Comments

Tech Tuesday: Machine Tags on Our Flickr Images

We joined Flickr last summer as a new way to share our photos with the public. These photos are also available via our online catalog, the Archival Research Catalog (ARC). From the iconic Mathew Brady Civil War photographs to the … Continue reading

Posted in Databases, Miscellaneous, Online Research, Open Government, Photographs, Social Media (Web 2.0), Tech Tuesdays | Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Open Government: NARA Releases Six Datasets

As part of the Open Government initiative, NARA recently released six datasets available for the first time as raw data in XML format.  The datasets are: three editions (2007, 2008, and 2009) of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) archival … Continue reading

Posted in Databases, Open Government, Research | Tagged , , , | 6 Comments

The National Archives and the Open Government Initiative

The National Archives is working on responding to the Obama Administration’s Open Government Directive of December 2009, which was issued to promote new lines of communication and cooperation between the federal government and the American people. The Open Government Directive is … Continue reading

Posted in Databases, Open Government | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

Tech Tuesdays

Thanks to your great feedback on our recent Family Tree Fridays and NARA Staff Favorite posts, we’re considering introducing another specialized series here on NARAtions. This new set of posts, called Tech Tuesdays, would allow us to start a discussion … Continue reading

Posted in Databases, Digitization, Miscellaneous, Online Research, Research, Tech Tuesdays | Tagged , , , , | 6 Comments

Question: If you could personalize your experience of NARA’s research Web pages and online catalog with a customized user account, what features would it include and how would they help you?

If you could personalize your experience of NARA’s research Web pages and online catalog with a customized user account, what features would it include and how would they help you? Our latest ARC update included a new feature called “My … Continue reading

Posted in Databases, Online Research, Questions, Research, Social Media (Web 2.0) | Tagged , , | 13 Comments

Question: Should we allow the public to tag descriptions in our online catalog? Why or why not?

NARA is in the very early phases of designing its next generation online catalog.  Should we allow the public to tag catalog descriptions?  Why or why not? Our current online catalog, the Archival Research Catalog (ARC), does not allow for tagging.  Staff … Continue reading

Posted in Databases, Online Research, Questions, Social Media (Web 2.0) | Tagged , | 38 Comments